Posted on Leave a comment

How To Make Your Golf Cart Street Legal In Florida

How To Make Your Golf Cart Street Legal In Florida

How To Make Your Golf Cart Street Legal In Florida

We get this all the time … ” Is this cart street legal? ” or How do I make my golf cart street legal? What do I need to do or can you do it? So this article was just an obvious one I needed to write to cover the bases for our customers and offer the information to get you on the same page with the Florida DMV via the FLHSMV. Here is an Affidavit for you to print and sign for them after conversion is complete. ( See below where you will need to take the vehicle for an inspection )

Also this makes for a great check list to make sure you are prepared for the conversion with all the parts required to do so.  The information below is directly from the Department of Motor Vehicles ” Guide To Owning A Low Speed Vehicle. ” Click this link for a printable copy or read on.

Basic Requirements for Street Legal Compliance

A low speed vehicle (LSV) is a vehicle with a top speed greater than 20 MPH,but not greater than 25 MPH. LSVs must be registered, titled and insured with personal injury protection (PIP) and property damage liability (PDL) insurance. Any person operating an LSV must have a valid driver license. LSVs may only be operated on streets where the posted speed limit is 35 MPH or less. LSVs must be equipped with the following safety equipment:

How To Make Your Golf Cart Street Legal In Florida Check List

Need to order parts? Find all the things you may need to convert your cart to street legal status here. Remember all orders over $99 always ship free… Shop Now for street legal golf cart parts! 

Basic Golf Cart Usage By Law

Golf carts are defined in section 320.01(22), Florida Statutes, as “a motor vehicle that is designed and manufactured for operation on a golf course for sporting or recreational purposes and that is not capable of exceeding speeds of 20 MPH.” Golf carts may be operated on roadways that are designated for golf carts with a posted speed limit of 30 MPH or less. Golf carts are not titled or registered and are not required to be insured with PIP and PDL coverage. A person must be 14 years or older to operate a golf cart.

Converting Your Golf Cart To Street Legal Use

Prior to titling and registering a converted golf cart, the vehicle must be inspected and assigned a VIN at a Motorist Services Regional Office. The converted golf cart must be street-legal before applying for title and registration. You can trailer the converted golf cart to a Motorist Services Regional Office in your area and present the following documents and fees for an inspection, VIN assignment, title and registration:

• Manufacturer’s Certificate of Origin or a bill of sale for the golf cart form HSMV 84490
(Statement of Builder) completed by customer and compliance examiner/inspector;
• Form HSMV 86064 (Aidavit for Golf Cart Modified to a Low Speed Vehicle);
• Original bill(s)s of sale or receipt(s) for all parts used to convert the golf cart;
• Certified weight slip for the converted golf cart.
• Form HSMSV 82040 (Application for Title);
• Proof of Florida insurance (minimum $10,000 PDL and $10,000 PIP);
• Sales tax or sales tax exemption information for all parts;
• Identification – driver license, ID card or passport; and
Applicable fees,
– Inspection fee – Initial registration fee, if applicable
– Title fee – Registration fee (varies by weight of vehicle)
– Plate fee

Street legal Status For All-Terrain Vehicles (ATVs)

ATVs are titled vehicles, but not requiring registration. Nor do they require to be insured with PIP and PDL coverage. (Sections 261.20, 316.2074 and 316.2123, Florida Statutes) As per Florida law all-terrain vehicles (ATVs) may only be operated on unpaved roadways where the posted speed limit is less than 35 MPH and only during daylight hours. Anyone under the age of 16 operating an ATV on public land must be under the supervision of an adult and must have proof of completion of a Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services (DACS) approved safety course. ATV operators and riders under the age of 16 must wear a USDOT approved safety helmet and eye protection.

Hopefully this Basic How To Guide – Step by Step – was helpful in getting our customer the information they need to get their new toy compliant with state laws and street legal. Have fun out there but be safe…..

Posted on Leave a comment
Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *